License & Permits

Important - PDF forms or documents should be saved (downloaded) to your computer before using. Some forms may not appear or function correctly when viewed or filled out within some web browsers.

Alcohol Beverage Licenses
To serve beer and alcohol within your place of business, you must first obtain a license from the State of Idaho, obtain a license from Valley County, and then make an application with the City of McCall.

APPLICATION LICENSE TYPE

FEE

DESCRIPTION

Alcohol Catering Permit

Catering Permit Application

$20.00 per day

A permit which authorizes the owner of a alcohol beverage license to serve and alcoholic beverages at a party or convention, and not to exceed three (3) consecutive days. Holders of a beer and/or wine license are limited to only beer or wine service and cannot serve liquor under this permit.

Beer / OFF Premises

Alcohol License Application

$50.00 per year

Beer sold in original containers to be consumed off the premises such as grocery and convenience stores.

Beer / ON Premises

Alcohol License Application

$200.00 per year

Beer to be consumed on the premises by draft or original container such as restaurants or bars.

Wine / OFF Premises

Alcohol License Application

$50.00 per year

Wine sold in original containers to be consumed off the premises, such as grocery and convenience stores.

Wine / ON Premises

Alcohol License Application

$200.00 per year

Wine to be consumed on the premise by the glass or bottle.

Liquor by the Drink Alcohol License Application $375.00 per year Consumption of liquor on the premises such as restaurants or bars.

Application Forms

General Business License Application

Animal Drawn Vehicle License Application

Snow Removal Business License Application

Public Event Permit Application

Vendor Permit Application

Farmers Market Permit Application

Peddler Permit Application

General Business License
Any person or entity seeking to engage in, prosecute or carry on any trade, business or profession within the limits of McCall must obtain a General Business License from the City Clerk. The initial license fee is $125 and then the renewal fee for operating a business is $25.00 per year. A Business License is good for the calendar year, expiring at Midnight, December 31st of each year. Fees will not be prorated and are non-refundable. If the Business License is not renewed by January 31 of each year then it is considered a new business and will be assessed the $125 new license fee.

Animal Drawn Vehicle
Any person seeking to operate a wagon or other vehicle drawn by one or more animals must first obtain a license from the City Clerk. The vehicle must be equipped with lights, reflectors and all other safety devices as may be required by state traffic laws, and each animal used to draw the vehicle is required to wear a device which prevents the deposit of feces on the ground. The annual fee for operating an animal drawn vehicle is $25.00

Child Daycare
Any person, persons, or organization wishing to obtain a City business license to operate a Child Daycare must abide by Idaho Code Title 39 Chapter 11 Basic Day Care License and provide a copy of their Idaho State License prior to approval of their City business license.

Farmers Market
To qualify as a Farmers Market, the market organizers must comply with the Market Development Division of the Idaho State Department of Agriculture and its definition of a Farmers Market as outlined in the Idaho Farmers Market Manual. No charge or assessment of any kind shall be made or levied by the City on any wagon or vehicle or on the owner bringing farm produce to any farmer's market that may be established in the City. A permit for a farmer's market may be issued for a location on private property, on City right of way, or other City property, provided that insurance is provided with the City as a co-insured if on City property or right of way. A farmer's market shall pay a license fee of $50 per season and is designed to cover only costs of processing the application and of issuance of the permit. Allowable signage for a Farmers Market are no more than two (2) directional a-frame signs, each a maximum of 12 sq. ft. placed within the public right of way of the nearest intersections, but so as not to impede pedestrian or vehicle traffic. Individual Farmers Market vendors are limited to signage displayed within their allotted vending space within the farmer’s market.

Pawn Broker
Any person seeking to operate a pawn shop within the City is required to obtain a permit. An application for such license shall be made to the City Clerk in such form and manner as provided by the City Clerk’s office. Upon receipt of an application for a license, the City Clerk shall cause an investigation to be made of the applicant by the Police Department. Upon completion of such investigation, the City Clerk shall issue, subject to City Council approval, a license which shall expire on December 31 of the year of its issuance, unless sooner revoked or surrendered. The Police Chief may refuse to issue a license for any premises which, in the opinion of the Police Chief, is not suitably located for enforcement purposes having due regard to the type and character of business and traffic in the locale of the proposed business. In the event that the Police Chief refuses to issue a license, the Police Chief shall provide the applicant a written explanation of the specific reasons for the denial. At the time of filing an application the fee for the license or permit shall be paid and is nonrefundable. The initial fee, in addition to the General Business License, is a $125 fee for a 5 year license.

Peddler's License
Every person, acting as a Peddler, shall apply to the City for a Peddler’s license as required by McCall City Code Title 4. The application for such permit shall be filed with the City Clerk not less than eight (8) weeks prior to the first day upon which sales are intended to occur. Upon receipt of an application for a Peddler’s license, the application shall be referred to the McCall Police Department which shall conduct an investigation to determine the suitability of the applicant to be licensed. The investigation shall require an applicant to provide information and fingerprints necessary to obtain criminal history information from the Idaho State Police and The Federal Bureau of Investigation pursuant to Idaho Code section 67-3008 and congressional enactment public law 92544. The McCall Police Department is authorized to receive criminal history information from the Idaho State Police and from the Federal Bureau of Investigation for the purpose of evaluating the fitness of an applicant for licensure. As required by state and federal law, further dissemination or other use of the criminal history information is prohibited. The applicant shall pay, in advance, the fees required by the Idaho State Police Bureau of Criminal Identification for the criminal records check. The City, upon receipt of payment of the proper Peddler’s license fees, and other required information as specified, and upon compliance with the requirements of this Chapter, shall issue a Peddler’s license. The fees for a Peddler’s License is non-refundable.

Peddler License fees: $125.00 quarterly per person for initial license and first day, then $25.00 per day thereafter (Oct-Nov-Dec; Jan-Feb-Mar; Apr-May-Jun; Jul-Aug-Sep)

Temporary Vendor License
No person shall do business as a Vendor or as part of a Public Event within the City of McCall without first obtaining a permit as a Vendor from the City Clerk and paying a license fee for the permit. Excluded are Vendors of Farmers markets and sales representatives. A person holding a Vendor's permit or license which is part of another licensed street carnival or event during Winter Carnival, issued by the organizers of such carnival or event, shall not be required to hold a permit issued by the City.  The application for such permit shall be filed with the City Clerk and paying a license fee for the permit, not less than 72 hours prior to the first day upon which sales are intended to occur. The permitting process for a nonprofit organization Vendor shall be the same as a for-profit Vendor.
Vendor License fees: $25.00 per day - $500.00 per season (May 5-September 15) - $1000.00 per year.

Snow Removal License
It shall be unlawful for any person to engage in the business of snow removal within the McCall City limits unless a valid license therefore has been issued. At the time of filing an application the fee for the license or permit shall be paid and is nonrefundable. The Snow Removal Contractor shall be responsible for the work performed under the provisions McCall City Code Title 4 and comply with the rules and regulations pertaining to snow removal within the City. The Snow Removal Contractor shall keep a daily log of each driver in case of a damage claim; utilize safety measures and equipment to protect workers and the public as prescribed by laws and American National Standards Institute (ANSI) standard; and comply with all City, County, State, and Federal laws. The City of McCall shall maintain a list of Snow Removal Contractors that have been approved to remove snow from private property within the McCall City limits.

Snow Removal License Fees: $125.00 for the initial season     (October-March) $25.00 annual renewal due October 1 of each year.

Taxi License
Every person, before providing taxicab service or commercial transportation, shall apply to the City for a business license and a taxicab or a commercial transportation driver's license. Every applicant for a taxicab or a commercial transportation driver's license shall supply a full set of fingerprints with every application, except that fingerprints will not be required for any renewal that occurs within five (5) years of the latest submittal of fingerprints by the applicant. Every applicant for a taxicab or commercial transportation business license shall supply a completed vehicle inspection for each vehicle to be used for services. The City, upon receipt of payment of the proper taxicab service or commercial transportation license fees ($125.00 per driver for a 5 year license) and other required information as specified, and upon compliance with the requirements, shall issue a taxicab or commercial transportation business license or a taxicab or commercial transportation driver's license.

Fireworks Stands

McCall City Code 5-3-430: PERMITTED POSSESSION:

Possession of fireworks is lawful in the following cases:

(A) A recognized civic organization having a genuine, material existence and purpose separate from obtaining a permit under this Section, may make application for a permit for a fireworks display according to Uniform Fire Code Article 78 and Uniform Fire Code section 4.108, to be held in connection with a national holiday or special local event. The application shall be made to the City Clerk, who shall route it through the police chief and fire chief and to the mayor and council. The mayor may make or direct such investigation as he may deem appropriate. The permit shall be issued or denied by the mayor and council, considered for these purposes to be the fire prevention bureau, based upon consideration of the nature of the occasion, the nature of the applicant, and the public safety. Any permit issued under this subsection shall be limited to one time only for which issued. (Ord. 606, 5-14-1992)

(B) Permitted fireworks may be sold in fireworks packages at retail commencing not earlier than eight o'clock (8:00) A.M. on June 30 and continuing until twelve o'clock (12:00) midnight on July 4. Fireworks may be lawfully discharged by the consumer from eight o'clock (8:00) A.M. on June 30 until twelve o'clock (12:00) midnight on July 5, provided that their use is not then illegal pursuant to the uniform fire code and the existing natural fire hazard conditions. Permitted fireworks shall not be used or possessed in hazardous fire areas or under hazardous fire conditions the existence of which may be publicly declared by the fire chief. Fireworks in violation of this section are subject to seizure.

(C) The city council will not extend the period of sale beyond the period indicated in this section to accommodate sales on weekends.

(D) Permits to sell fireworks under the provisions of a hawkers license will be limited to five (5) hawkers in the city and will be available to requestors on a first-come, first-served basis. No preference will be made for any organization in the permitting process. Permits for sale will commence on the first business day in May and continue until five (5) permits are issued.

Fireworks Stand (Vendor) Permit Application $25.00 per day